ABOUT THE IOWA LEGISLATURE

THERE ARE 150 LEGISLATORS IN IOWA'S LEGISLATURE.

Some states have more, some less. Iowa's Legislature has two parts: the Iowa House of Representatives and the Iowa Senate.

There are 100 Representatives serving in the Iowa House of **Representatives**, or the "Iowa House" for short. Representatives serve two-year terms so they will be up for election again in November 2024.

There are 50 Senators in the Iowa Senate. They are elected to four-year terms. Half of the Senators will be up for election in November 2024 (the 25 with even-numbered districts), and the other half will face re-election in November 2026 (the 25 that are in odd-numbered districts).

Legislative districts are drawn so that every Iowa Senate district includes two Iowa House districts. Every Senator represents about 63,800 people and every Representative represents about 31,900 people. One Representative and one Senator represent you at the Iowa Capitol.

In 2023, one in three legislators is new.

Republicans control the Iowa House by 14 votes.

Republicans control the Iowa Senate by 9 votes.

